Goats,Snakes,and Black Top

Finally, I did the 10 miles I have been talkin about for what feels like days. It went well Ray Wylie Hubbard and his cowboy, redneck punkster meets delta blues croning got me thru it. I mean how can you not be inspired when someone is singing “Screw you, we’re from Texas”?

Today was my first experiment with using a supplement during a long run. I tried Sports Beans. They are a jelly bean with electrolytes and vitamins. They are sweetened with cane syrup and have no artificial colors.THe same people that make the jelly belly beans make em.LIke all the gels and other products out there, you are supposed to eat them with water. So I carried some water and let me say I am not a fan of that. I don’t like the sloshing noise and I don’t like the added weight of it. I only carried about  2 cups. I ate the beans at 5 miles and drank about a 1/2 cup of water. Eating the beans and trying to run and drink water did briefly slow me down, but I am hoping I will get faster at eating the,. The results? It’s possible it made a difference, I will keep trying them on the long runs only. The most discomfort I had on the entire run was from razor burn or rubbing in my armpit-go figure. All in all, great run!

I only took 2 pics this run.

 

Goats
Goats,Snakes,and Black Top

2 thoughts on “Goats,Snakes,and Black Top

Leave a Reply

